College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
Plant Science & Landscape Architecture

Graduate Students

Programs: Landscape Architecture + CMPL | Landscape Architecture | Plant Science

Program: Landscape Architecture & Community Planning - LARC CMPL

Student Information:

 

Espinoza, Maria Jose

maespinoza312@gmail.com

 

Satterlee, Kristina Lois

ksatterl@umd.edu

 

Stokes, Bridget

bstokes1@umd.edu

 

 

Velez-Lopez, Sebastian

svelezlo@terpmail.umd.edu

Rausch, Matthew

mgrausch@umd.edu

  • Researching L/A design efforts that employ the principles of street design, specifically principles of the Complete Streets efforts, EPA Green and Sustainable Streets program, and the Main Street USA program (State and National levels)
  • Investigating how these street design approaches can be applied to small rural towns in America where there are efforts to revitalize the community

Program: Landscape Architecture - MLA

Student Information:

 

Evans, Caroline


evans.carey@gmail.com

 

Fann, Audrey Erin

afann@g.umd.edu

 

Gray, Lauren

lgray12@umd.edu

 

Jones, Alison

alijones@umd.edu

 

Mallory, Jonathan

jmallory@umd.edu

 

Martin, Bryn

martinb6@g.umd.edu

 

Moody, Kelsey

kelseyamoody@gmail.com

 

Podietz, Emma

epodietz@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Rahmati, Afrouz

rahmati.afrooz@gmail.com

  • Therapeutics & Healing gardens
  • Botanical gardens and the their role in urban environments
 

Ren, Xiaojin

rxj22119@g.umd.edu

 

Russell, Sherry

slr2020@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Parker, Pamela

pparker@umd.edu

 

Salzano, Christopher Robert

csalzan@g.umd.edu

Samoray, Christopher

samorayc@umd.edu

  • Experienced science writer
  • Design interests relate to climate change, particularly in the context of ecological conservation and coastal resilience efforts
 

Savio, Hannah Lee

hsavio@g.umd.edu

 

Serra, Lucia Takemiya

98serra@cua.edu

 

Sullivan, William Hearst

wsulliv6@umd.edu 

 

Turner, Sarah

sturner@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Wallace, Sarah

swallace@umd.edu

 

 Wellnitz, Shane

Shane.Wellnitz1@gmail.com

 

Whitley, Yuki

ywhitley@terpmail.umd.edu


Program:  Plant Science - PLSC

Student Information:

 

Belayneh, Bruk E.

belayneh@umd.edu

 

Castillo Gonzalez, Humberto

humb15@umd.edu

  • Examining the diversity of endophytic fungi from the Rubiaceae family.   
  • Studying key roles in driving plant responses against pathogens and/or for adaptation to difficult environments.
  • Understanding the role of plants in selecting lineages of fungi using secondary metabolites, how the communities are assembled, and what interactions take place. 
 

Chhabra, Bhavit

bchhabra@umd.edu

 

Cosseboom, Scott

scossebo@umd.edu

  • Evaluating management methods against bunch grape diseases
  • Fungicide efficacy and sensitivity testing for pathogens of bunch grapes and small fruit
  • Observing pathogen species distribution and frequency in bunch grape and small fruit fields of the Mid-Atlantic
 

Deaver, Wesley

wdeaver@umd.edu

 

Demissie, Habtamu

dhabtamu@umd.edu

 

Do, Sarah

sdo@terpmail.umd.edu

  • urban ecology and plant traits in urban ecosystems
 

Doherty, Joseph

jdohert3@umd.edu

  • Investigating methods for improved biological control of brown patch in home lawn turf
  • Evaluating impacts of fungicide and biocontrol applications on the rhizosphere microbiome of putting greens
 

Frye, Christopher

cfrye@umd.edu

 

Howard, Ian

ihoward@umd.edu

 

Jones, Jake

jgjones@umd.edu

 

Korir, Robert

rkorir@umd.edu

 

Levine, Bruce 

levinebj@umd.edu

  • Exploration of the function of genes in the Chestnut blight fungus (Cryphonectria parasitica) suspected of playing a role in pathogenesis.
  • Study of highly-conserved fungal pathogenicity genes as possible targets for novel forms of disease resistance.

 

 

Liu, Xingchen

rivilliu@umd.edu

 

Luo, Qiuchen

qcluo@umd.edu

 

Mahlandt, Alexander

amahland@umd.edu

 

Malzahn, Aimee

amalzahn@terpmail.umd.edu

  • CRISPR-based genome engineering in dicot plants
 

Marshall, Lauren

lemarsh@umd.edu

 

Morash, Jennifer

jmorash@umd.edu

 

Pang, Changxu

cpang89@umd.edu

 

Park, Boyoung

bpark513@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Perkins, Carrie, NSF GRFP Fellow

cperk@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Peterson, Cara

cmpeters@umd.edu

 

Pritchard, Candace

cpritch@umd.edu

 

Qian, Bilian

bqian@umd.edu

 

Segobye, Kabelo

ksegobye@umd.edu

Singh, Lovepreet

lps1699@terpmail.umd.edu

  • Molecular basis of Fhb1 mediated resistance against Fusarium Head Blight in wheat
 

Solaiman, Sultana

sultanas@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Sretenovic, Simon

simonsre@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Steadham, James

jstea@umd.edu

  • Positional cloning of wheat rust resistance genes
 

Tamukong, Yvette

tyb@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Thapa, Resham

rthapa@umd.edu

  • Conduct controlled lab-based incubation and field-based experiments to understand factors controlling cover crop decomposition and N release in no-till corn systems across the mid- and south-Atlantic USA states
  • Calibrating and validating CERES-N model to predict N release from surface-applied cover crop residues in no-till corn systems
 

Trouth, Frances

frances.trouth@ars.usda.gov

 

Weissman, Danielle S

dweissm1@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Wong-Stack, Tiffany

wongt@ibbr.umd.edu

 

Xiao, Yuwei

ywxiao93@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2019. Web Accessibility